Krabby patty secret formula: Changing the World

Life is full of both good and bad. We are balanced precariously on the precipice, constantly tipping back and forth from the positive and the negative aspects of life we are faced with daily. I’m very aware of the pain in our world, I understand there is cruel out there and I hold my hands up and admit that even I succumb to a negative emotion. I can be negative, of course, I’ve definitely had my pessimistic moments. But I was born thinking a little differently, I was born with a heart that aches for change. I was blessed with a heart that has enough love for the whole world and if I’m lucky enough to have it, I feel it’s my duty to share it. I’m going to share with you some of the ways I try to change the world every day.

This is the krabby patty secret recipe of my life, my biggest philosophy and ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, unicorns and mermaids, I am here today to share it with you.

Be the change you want to see

Our world is full of people, each unique in their own way. Each with their own thoughts and opinions, each with a heart and mind different than the other. Most people have a dream, a hope, a thought that one day things could be different. One day, just maybe, this dream could be a reality. My advice to you, one dreamer to another; fight your hardest to live it. You’ve only got one life, push to make this dream a reality. I dream that one day our world will be full of peace. I dream that the hate in our world will be completely overshadowed by the good and the pure that I try to project every day. I dream that everyone will be allowed to live in peaceful harmony no matter who they are, where they are from, what religion they follow or how they chose to live their lives. Ultimately, I dream of world peace. Unrealistic? Maybe. Hopeful? Absolutely. Hard headed and stubbornly sure that this could one day be a reality? Always.

Just because my dream may be a little far-fetched doesn’t mean I don’t have it. And whilst I may never live to see such a day, it doesn’t mean I can’t do everything in my power right now to be the change I want to see in the world. If I live my life the way that I dream so many others would then that’s one more person in the world spreading peace, positivity and love. If I can influence one person through this blog to spread a little more love, if I can convince someone to become a little more open minded and accepting of those around them, then I’ve done my part, right? However small or seemingly insignificant, the little changes matter. Over time little changes become bigger, they spread and grow and soon enough they transform towns and cities, over time, they could transform the world. It could all start with you, I truly believe that.

Look for the positive  

Its no secret that negative press sells. Every big name paper has the latest scandal printed in bold, screaming at you from the front page. Don’t get me wrong I like to be informed, of course I do. So absolutely, tell me the latest tragedy to plague our world and why. Let me know what’s going on. But don’t tell us the world is failing, don’t tell us humanity is falling apart, don’t tell me that there is no hope left but fail to mention the good and the pure that happens on a daily basis. I challenge you to open your paper, this is the only time I will allow myself to utter these words, but even have a look in The Sun or the Daily Mirror *shudders* and look for the positive stories. They’re there, believe me I’ve looked. There’s a hidden positive tucked away in a corner underneath some advert on page 26. Good things do happen. Good people do exist. Despite everything that’s happened I truly believe people are good at heart. This is one of my most important methods in keeping my dream alive. My biggest trick to eternal optimism.

I combat every negative story with a positive one. Each time something bad happens, like most, I’m left broken hearted. As the world begins to pick up its pieces and the stories and facts emerge from the latest tragedy everyone reacts differently. I personally chose to pick up the pieces in the only way I know how; optimism. My optimism is kind of like a car, every so often I need fuel so I go looking for it. I go looking for my positive and I always find it. Whether it be something I read on Buzzfeed or something that comes up on my news app on my phone, it’s always there, waiting for me like it knew I was on the way.

Over the years our world has taken its fair share of pain. The stories that emerge from these events are truly heart breaking and my heart bleeds for those affected. I search, I do my research and I become informed. I look for a way to help, like most do. But here’s a tip, when picking through the news have a look out for the hidden heroes. Have a look for those stories that make your heart swell and a smile grace your face as you see that humanity is still standing. Broken and bruised, but still there dusting itself off and waving its hands. Whether it be a local story about fundraising or a worldwide story, the positive is out there. And when you find it? Share it loud and share it proud. These stories are often forgotten amongst the hurt, don’t let them fall away. Let people know the positive is out there. Sometimes all someone needs is a friendly nudge in the right direction.

Pick up the penny

“Find a penny, pick it up and all day long you’ll have good luck”

People might think I’m a little odd when I go out my way to pick up every penny I see, I will literally double back on myself and walk through a crowd if I think I missed one. I pick up the penny and I pass it onto someone, and I mean anyone. I don’t know why I started or even when, I just know it’s something I’ve always done. I kind of think of it as a placebo. A penny being passed on is a symbol for good luck. Besides making people smile at the big goofy twenty year old chasing them with a penny demanding they take it, I think it makes people look for the luck in their day. If I’ve been passed a penny during the day and something good happens I always go back and think about it, even for a second. Ridiculous? Most definitely but it’s my little way of making someone’s day better. Maybe it works, maybe it doesn’t but it’s along the lines of a theory I’m a big fan off; paying it forward.

Paying it forward is basically as it sounds, like the film (SPOILER ALERT ~ the film that left me in a big sobbing weeping mess) you do something good for someone and all you ask in return is that they do something good for someone else. Picking up the penny and passing it on is one of those things. Sometimes I like to compliment someone on their outfit or make a ridiculous joke, I go out my way to do something nice everyday, whether it be in public, at home or even through this site. I don’t ask for anything in return nor do I need to I simply hope that the good mood I hope to encourage carries on and maybe they pay it forward throughout the day. Maybe I can’t change the world all at once, maybe it’s not as easy as a few pennies and a big heart but nobody said I couldn’t try. I’m changing the world one lucky penny at a time, watch this space world. This penny picking lunatic could be your future queen of the world and when I declare world peace I’m going to declare a mandatory penny picking day.

Speak your mind, even if your voice shakes

Everyone’s got an opinion. Some like to voice theirs, some don’t and that’s okay. When I say “speak your mind, even if your voice shakes”, I don’t mean scream your political opinions at people on the street. What I’m talking about it speaking up for what you believe in. Now, this is a little bit of a grey area right now. Some people interpret “free speech” differently and people have become a little confused. Here is my view on it; speak your mind, have an opinion, support who you choose and live how you feel best fit BUT do not speak in a derogatory, discriminatory or hateful manner towards someone or a specific group. There are ways to share your opinion, even a controversial opinion, without being hurtful. I cannot emphasise this enough. Everyone sometimes has a little difficulty taking on board someone else’s opinion, I’ll admit its hard having a conversation with someone who believes the exact opposite to what you do, everyone struggles and I’ll hold my hands up and say that a lot of the time, I do too. But taking on board others opinions and learning to accept them and discuss them is very important, it encourages others to think a little differently and understand things from another’s perspective. If you want people to listen to yours, you’re going to have to learn to compromise.

You might be wondering why I included this paragraph in this particular blog. Well, here’s why. I use this blog to share my thoughts, feelings and views. Some views you may agree with, some you may not and that’s okay. I share my opinions regarding love, peace and unity proudly hoping that maybe, just maybe, they might influence a change, they might encourage someone to think a little deeper or alternatively, some people may choose to ignore them and move on with their lives unaffected. But you never know unless you try. I have absolutely no problem sharing my opinion with anyone, I sign online ballots regarding change, I read article upon article ensuring I stay informed at all times, I am a huge Malala Yousafzai fan and follow her fight regarding girls education actively standing on the side lines with my pom-poms cheering her every step of the way. I will speak up against hate and discrimination passionately and I will actively advocate for peace, love, unity and acceptance. I tell bad jokes and then laugh at them myself, I did a little song and dance as I crossed the box for this years election and I will sing any ABBA song I please at any given time. I’ve got a voice and I’m going to use it.

I’m simply a girl with a little voice and a big heart looking to be heard, so I always speak my mind, even if my voice shakes.

“Do your little bit of good where you are; its those little bits of good put all together that overwhelm the world” ~ Desmond TuTu

 

 

11 thoughts on “Krabby patty secret formula: Changing the World

  1. I’m so pleased you’ve included this message towards mermaids and unicorns, too! 😆🦄

    Now that I’ve gotten the silliness out of the way, I may commence on the praises. Your posts are an immense joy and privilege to read. I’ll admit sometimes it’s a little hard to read; but not in a bad way! It’s more mind-boggling someone can have so much positivity. You know what? That’s not a bad thing!! In fact, I keep returning because of it and it makes me want to try harder, experience it, and share it! For that, I thank you. But the gratitude truly steams from being upfront in regards to the hard aspects of life, acknowledging them, and still coming out better and stronger on the other end. Each time I read one of your posts it feels like I’m talking to a friend; your personality and spirit comes through. Please do keep wanting to change the world; because you’re going to make changes, have no doubt made changes, and will continue to do so. Thanks for brightening up my day (as well as making it through this insanely long winded comment 😅)! All the best! ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, that was really kind. Things are actually pretty rough just now so being optimistic can be a little difficult, but I find pushing to find my positive makes me feel better. I guess it’s my coping mechanism and it’s working out pretty well so far. Even in my fairytale things aren’t always rainbows and unicorns…just 99% of the time. Thank you for this, I didn’t realise how much I needed it today✨❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an amazing post. Your philosophy on life is truly inspiring. It’s lovely to meet a like-minded Person. I am also vastly humanitarian. Like you I try to do small things each day and i’m a huge fan of Random Acts Of Kindness. I do these regularly. Little things can make a huge difference to somebody’s day.

    Tallulah X

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey, I found your little space in the community pool, so glad I did!! amazing write up!!!keep writing and inspire us…. surely will be waiting for more!!
    Please do visit my blog when time permits, thanks in advance and see you there! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment